Christine Feehan is a very prolific author, with several series: Dark Series, Ghost Walkers, Sea Haven, and Leopard Series.  For details, go to Christine Feehan webpage:  I also found an excellent webpage that catalogs the the squads:

What makes this series so complex?

I believe what makes this series so interesting to me is that there are many levels to the book.  We have the simpler “love story” aspect of each book as we see the two main characters fall in love.  Over that is the series plot line that expands as the books go onward.

The basic world

Dr. Peter Whitney is a brilliant scientist who is head of a military program. By using drugs and gene therapy he enhanced their innate psychic gifts.  What we find out is that he practiced his skills years ago on orphaned females.  Now these women who did not have support are being lead to our Alpha heroes.  Thus our love story!  The GhostWalker Creed (Taken from the beginning of Mind Game):

We are the GhostWalkers, we live in the shadows

The sea, the earth, and the air are our domain

No fallen comrade will be left behind

We are loyalty and honor bound

We are invisible to our enemies and we destroy them where we find them

We believe in justice and we protect our country and those unable to protect themselves

What goes unseen, unheard, and unknown are Ghostwalkers

There is honor in the shows and it is us

We move in complete silence whether in jungle or desert

We walk among our enemy unseen and unheard

Striking without sound and scatter to the winds before they have knowledge of our existence

We gather information and wait with endless patience for that perfect moment to deliver swift justice

We are both merciful and merciless

We are relentless and implacable in our resolve

We are the GhostWalkers and the night is ours

Nox noctis est nostri

There is more to come of course, but I do not want to spoil the plot here.  The strength of this series is in the writing quality.  The descriptions are incredibly vivid and draw one into the story.  The female leads are strong willed, no simpering females who wait for their man to rescue them.  We still have the rescues, but often they manage to rescue each other.

Note:  I do have one question though:  In Book 2 (Mind Games, Kaden’s name is Kaden Bishop, but when he gets his own book he is called Kadan Montague.  His first name spelling is changed.  They do cover his change of last name as a “nickname” of Bishop, but it seems rather odd to me.


I love this series!  Christine Feehan has the ability to draw a reader into the novel, dialogue, environmental description, and plotlines.  The only thing that is hit or miss is the character descriptions.  I found that for some of these men were all the same Alpha male, “grrrr!  I am strong and manly!”


I made a little graphic to display the Four Teams, including their book name and number.

The Books:  These should be read in order.  [*] Means they are my personal favorites

  • Shadow Game (#1) 2003 Characters: Ryland Miler & Lily Whitney
  • Mind Game * (#2) 2004 Characters: Nicolas Trevane & Dahlia Le Blanc
  • Night Game *(#3) 2005 Characters: Gator “Raoul” Fontenot & Iris “Flame” Johnson
  • Conspiracy Game * (#4) 2006 Characters:  Jack Norton & Briony Jenkins
  • Deadly Game (#5) 2007 Characters: Marigold Smith & Ken Norton
  • Predatory Game (#6) 2008 Characters: Jess Calhoun & Saber Wynter
  • Murder Game * (#7) 2008 Characters: Kadan Montague & Tansy Meadows
  • Street Game (#8) 2009 Characters: Mack McKinley & Jaimie Fielding
  • Ruthless Game (#9) 2010 Characters: Kane Cannon & Rose Patterson
  • Samurai Game (#10) 2012 Characters: Sam Johnson & Thorn


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s